Kaweah Delta set to honor top nurses and physician of the year on May 9

VISALIA – As part of Kaweah Delta Health Care District’s nurse week celebration (May 6-12), Kaweah Delta will honor its top nurses and its physician of the year on Thursday, May 9, in Visalia.  

The ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. at the Visalia Fox Theatre, 308 W. Main St.

Those honored include:  

Physician of the Year – Nadia Lupercio, M.D.
Nadia Lupercio, M.D., is an internal medicine physician at Kaweah Delta Medical Center. She is a graduate of Ross University and completed her residency at Albany Medical Center (Albany, New York). She is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine. She has been named Physician of the Year by Kaweah Delta Health Care District’s Professional Practice Council, which is made up of staff nurses representing every area of nursing in the district. She was nominated for her commitment to patients and collaborative relationships with healthcare providers. 

Exemplary Professional Practice Award - Joyce Bergshoeff, RN
This award honors a nurse who shares expertise with nursing peers and the healthcare team, demonstrates practice grounded by a culture of safety, quality monitoring and quality improvement, routinely uses current literature, professional standards and other data sources to support autonomous practice and contributes to improving the patient experience. Bergshoeff’s nomination reads, “It is not uncommon to find her singing to her patients and smiling in her interactions with the healthcare team and colleagues whom she encounters. She is relentless in pursuing the best therapeutic modalities for her patients and their well being is her top priority.”  

Structural Empowerment Award - Chrisi Lewis, RN
This award recognizes a nurse who partners with community organizations to improve patient outcomes and the health of the community. Lewis is a nurse in the cardiovascular intensive care unit. Her nomination reads: “Chrisi is an instrumental nurse whose knowledge, professional practice, and intuition keeps patients safe and the cardiovascular intensive care unit functioning." 

New Knowledge, Innovation & Improvements Award - Cassie Iaconis, RN
This award honors a nurse who evaluates existing practice, supports sharing new knowledge, and introduces and supports innovations in nursing at Kaweah Delta. Cassie was instrumental in developing an evidence-based project to help prevent patients from falling while at Kaweah Delta.  

Transformational Leadership Award - Ed Largoza, RN, MSN (Master of Science, Nursing)
This award honors a nurse in a formal leadership role who connects with staff within the organization by developing a unit/division that brings the nursing strategic plan and vision to life. This person implements innovation and demonstrates a strong sense of advocacy and support on behalf of staff and patients. His nomination reads, “He gets to know his staff on a personal level and becomes a mentor as well as a manager often encouraging staff to go back to further their education or become certified in order to improve their own practice. He is beloved by staff, colleagues and patients alike.”  

Nurse Philanthropist – Ed Largoza, RN, MSN
Largoza was chosen as nurse philanthropist based on his contributions to the Kaweah Delta Hospital Foundation, which helps Kaweah Delta achieve excellence in patient care through fundraising. When asked about what aspects of being a volunteer fundraiser he enjoys the most, Ed responded, “For me, volunteering and fundraising is a self-serving endeavor. I'm truly more blessed to give than to receive. I get tremendous joy and delight in being able to give and to support worthy causes.”