Honors & Accreditations

Leapfrog Hospital Safety Score 

Kaweah Delta Medical Center earned its fourth consecutive “A,” the top grade for patient safety in the Spring 2017 Hospital Safety Score. The score provides a complete picture of how well hospitals protect patients from accidents, errors, injuries and infections. Kaweah Delta is one of 844 hospitals out of more than 2,600 hospitals across the country that received A ratings in Leapfrog’s Hospital Safety Score. The Visalia-based hospital raised its safety score from 2015 by implementing a variety of initiatives that educated staff about best practices for patient safety. Clinical leadership and frontline staff implemented best practices to reduce surgical complications. Additionally, staff members have continued safe practices such as work to prevent hospital acquired infections, pressure ulcers, falls and more, said Sandra Volchko, Director of Performance Improvement and Patient Safety at Kaweah Delta. 

Joint Commission

Kaweah Delta Medical Center is fully accredited by the Joint Commission, the nation's leading organization for accreditation and certification of healthcare organizations. This accreditation is awarded for three years. After that, Joint Commission surveyors conduct an unannounced survey of accredited healthcare organizations a minimum of once every 39 months (two years for laboratories) to evaluate standards compliance.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Service

Kaweah Delta Medical Center has earned the highest overall hospital quality rating among hospitals in Tulare and Kings counties and the second-highest rating among hospitals in Fresno County according to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). The star ratings, released by CMS in October 2016, range from one to five stars. The more stars, the better a hospital performed overall on up to 64 quality measures reflecting common conditions that hospitals treat, such as heart attacks or pneumonia. The most common rating is three stars. The overall hospital rating was first released in August by CMS. Since that time, Kaweah Delta improved its star rating from three to four stars and was the only hospital in a 50-mile radius to improve its star rating. To see the overall star ratings of other hospitals, click HERE.

Center of Excellence

Kaweah Delta Medical Center has been designated as a Center of Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynecology (COEMIG) by the AAGL and Surgical Review Corporation. The AAGL promotes minimally invasive gynecologic surgery among surgeons worldwide. 


Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Distinction+®

Kaweah Delta Health Care District is a Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Distinction+ facility. This is a designation awarded by Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies to medical facilities that have demonstrated expertise in delivering quality health care. Facilities recognized for distinguished clinical care and processes are designated as Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care in key specialty areas including cardiac and orthopedic care. Blue Distinction Centers+ not only meet the same quality criteria as Blue Distinction Centers, but they also go a step further. Hospitals receiving a Blue Distinction Center+ designation are also measured on how efficiently they deliver this high-quality patient care.


Foster G. McGaw Prize

Kaweah Delta Health Care District is a Foster G. McGaw Prize winner. The prize honors health delivery organizations (hospitals, health systems, integrated networks, or self-defined community partnerships) that have demonstrated exceptional commitment to community service. It is one of the most coveted, significant honors in health care.


More Information